Blog 80 – Don’t move the line

When we stop gambling and admit we are powerless over gambling it important to stay as far away from gambling as possible. Like Superman and Kryptonite, the closer I get to gambling the weaker I become.

I learnt early on at GA that there is a line and one side is gambling and the other side is not gambling. In GA anything where you are staking something to win something then that is classed as a gamble (even buying a raffle ticket is classed as gambling). There are a few grey areas in my opinion which I won’t go into but I got the idea about what was gambling and what wasn’t.

So the idea is to stay on the side of not gambling which is the ultimate goal (1 day at a time) but sometimes you start to move the line and things that initially were seen as gambling can become seen as ok to do because they aren’t really hardcore gambling. I know this from experience as I started to move line after being off gambling for over 5 years.

I started to have a go on the raffle, the football scratch cards, the sweepstake for the FA cup final etc. (All things that are 100% gambling) but I told myself this was no big deal and I wouldn’t get myself in a mess doing this. This then lead to me playing on quiz machines in pubs and dropping some loose change in fruit machines whilst I was working away (again nobody would find out about this so it wouldn’t hurt).

Eventually though I’d moved the line too much and I was back gambling. Back telling lies, covering my tracks and back into the routine of gambling not caring if I won or lost. The biggest thing for me was that I was probably gambling with my family and my future (although I didn’t see it like that at the time). The money was just like Monopoly money, if I lost I chased and if I won I couldn’t tell my wife so it just gave me more tokens to spend for the rest of the week.

I hear stories of people who go back hard when they have a relapse but mine was quite subtle over a number of years. Maybe 5 years of GA helped me but all I do know is you have to take this addiction seriously and you have to be prepared to say no to people when they ask you to buy a raffle ticket or have a go on the football card etc. No one said it was going to be easy but once you start the move the line you are on a slippery slope back into addiction and 2 recoveries is definitely enough for me.

Hope this has been useful for someone, it’s certainly made me think about a few things writing it. Thankfully I’m now in a good place with my recovery and my last bet was on 18th October 2014. I’m still attending 2 GA meetings and they really do help my recovery 1 day at a time.

Leave a comment