Letter to myself

As I approach my 40th birthday but more importantly 5 years since my last bet I thought it would be interesting to write a letter to myself as a 18 year old boy/man to reflect on many highs/lows and lessons learned over the past 22 years. Thinking about this a bit more I guess there are lots of things for me to reflect on so thought I would use this blog to capture this.

Things I would tell myself if I was 18 again

  • Travel more (before you have kids)
  • Be more ambitious, you can achieve anything if you have the self belief and confidence
  • Study something other than Sports Science at University – maybe Engineering
  • Don’t toss it off at University. It’s costs a lot of money so make sure you work hard and get the grades you deserve
  • Don’t be afraid to go outside your comfort zone and push yourself
  • Spend more time with your grandparents as when their gone their gone
  • If you get married make sure the proposal is romantic and not on the back of you coming out about your gambling addiction.
  • Do not lie or be unfaithful (most of all don’t lie to yourself)
  • Tell more people about your gambling addiction (especially your father in law)

It would be easy for me to say don’t get addicted to gambling however I didn’t choose to become addicted it just happened and then there was no turning back. What I can say is that i should have taken my recovery more seriously first time around and stuck with my Gamblers Anonymous meetings. Instead I let the addiction back into my life and I lost control again. However, this addiction has surely moulded me into the 39 year old adult/father/husband I am today and many positives have come out as I go through my recovery.

I must say there has been many positives/good decisions made in the last 22 years and here are a few that spring to mind…

  • Did a skydive aged 21
  • Admitted I had a gambling problem aged 23 and went to my first Gamblers Anonymous meeting
  • Bought a house aged 23
  • Got married aged 26
  • Made some good career moves post 2004 into the great job I have today
  • Started a family aged 28 and now have 2 fantastic, smart children aged 11 and 8.
  • Travelled to many places across Europe/North America/Asia (Been to Disneyland Florida 3 times!)
  • Played football at a good standard (semi-pro)
  • Kept close to my best mate from school – Stevie
  • Been to watch the Open Golf, World Championship Athletics, Ashes test match, FA cup final, Real Madrid….
  • Returned to G.A for my second recovery aged 34
  • Ran the Great North Run aged 37
  • Slept in Warwick castle aged 38
  • Ran the London Marathon aged 39
  • Raised over £2500 for Mind and Motor Neurones Disease from various running events
  • Started a gambling addiction blog aged 36 (e.g. This One!!!)
  • Gained over 500 followers on my twitter account @gambling_free
  • I’m sure there are many more…….

At the end of the day I would say I’ve had a good life so far despite coping with the ongoing recovery from gambling addiction. Some things I may do differently but i cannot change the past. Hopefully I can pass some pearls of wisdom onto my children and hope they don’t fall into the same pitfalls as me.

I only hope the next 10 years are as good as the last 5 has been….but that means staying gamble free 1 day at a time and putting my recovery up at the top of my priority list.

My name is Steve and I’m a compulsive gambler. Last bet 18th October 2014

Leave a comment