Complacency – My Sleeping Lion

When I first started back on the road to recovery in 2003 I put the roaring lion of addiction back in its cage and locked the door. Life got better really quickly and the lion was asleep in its cage.

Over time complacency set in and I stopped going to my GA meetings which I meant I didn’t have that constant reminder of how scary the lion was and one by one my barriers were taken away.

I see now I was taking a big risk and started to leave the lions cage unlocked but he was still asleep so I would be safe. 

Another barrier would disappear which meant I left the lions cage door open slightly as by now I had forgotten the dangers and consequences of the lion escaping and the turmoil that would create in my life. 

Then one day the Lion would awake and make his way out of the cage. I know this is bad but my addiction is telling me I can control the lion and everything will be ok. The scary lion is back in action causing chaos and destruction but I am trying to fight this battle alone and having no success. The Lion is overpowering me again and my complacency has allowed him to do this.

Fortunately I get another lifeline and with the help of my wife and GA I am able to put the Lion back in his cage and he has now been asleep again for over 500 days. I must learn this valuable lesson about becoming complacent as this is probably my last chance. If the Lion got out the cage again, who knows what the consequences will be.

This is a good reminder for me and why I attend regular GA meetings. Be aware of complacency and don’t give your sleeping lion the chance to escape as it is patient and waiting to pounce and roar again.

 

Leave a comment